Intermezzo Sinfonico from Cavalleria Rusticana (score)

Intermezzo Sinfonico from Cavalleria Rusticana (score)


The short opera Cavalleria Rusuticana won first prize in a young composer’s opera contest and premiered in 1890. This tragic love story is based upon several sources: Giovanni Verga’s novel, other plays and a true account from Sicily. Considered a hallmark of the opera verismo (reality) movement of the late 19th century, the masterpiece instantly established Mascagni’s fame.
This movement is an instrumental interlude between two scenes evoking the spirit of opera’s Easter Day setting. Certainly the opera’s most memorable remnant, the Intermezzo has been featured in film (Raging Bull, The Godfather Pt. III) and the HBO series The Sopranos.


1st Flute
2nd Flute (Piccolo)
1st & 2nd Oboes
1st & 2nd Bassoons
Clarinet in Eb
1st Clarinet in Bb
2nd Clarinet in Bb
Alto Clarinet in Eb
Bass Clarinet in Bb
1st Alto Saxophone in Eb (Soprano Saxophone)
2nd Alto Saxophone in Eb
Tenor Saxophone in Bb
Baritone Saxophone in Eb
1st & 2nd Trumpets in Bb
1st & 2nd Cornets in Bb
1st & 2nd Horns in F
3rd & 4th Horns in F
1st & 2nd Trombones
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Harp or Piano
Organ (Opt.)