Suite for Small Band - Flexible Band 6 Parts & Percussion

Suite for Small Band - Flexible Band 6 Parts & Percussion

Printed set (Score & Parts)

I. Prelude (2:25) II. Lullaby (2:50) III. March (2:17)

[Part 1] Piccolo, Flute, Oboe, Eb Clarinet, Bb Clarinet
[Part 2] Bb Clarinet, Bb Soprano Saxophone, Bb Trumpet, Eb Alto Saxophone
[Part 3] Bb Clarinet, Bb Tenor Saxophone, Eb Alto Saxophone, F Horn
[Part 4] Bb Clarinet, Bb Tenor Saxophone, Trombone (Euphonium)
[Part 5] Eb Alto Clarinet, Bb Tenor Saxophone, Euphonium (Trombone), Bassoon
[Part 6] Bb Bass Clarinet, Eb Baritone Saxophone, Tuba, String Bass
[Percussion 1(optional)] Tambourine, Triangle, Snare Drum
[Percussion 2(optional)] Glockenspiel, Xylophone

This composition is comprised of 3 movements: I. Prelude, II. Lullaby, and III. March. The words that describe each movement are "sacredness" (Prelude), "songlike" (Lullaby), and "cuteness" (March). This "flexible ensemble" setting is adaptable in various situations such as small to large instrumentation, ensembles to concert bands, and concerts to contests/festivals.

Since there are various possible combinations of instruments, I look forward to seeing unique instrumentation that I would have never imagined of. Above all, it is my deepest desire for the performers to have an amazing experience making music freely.

(Hiroki Takahashi)