Asuka [1994 revision]

Asuka [1994 revision]

  • Composer: Kushida, Tetsunosuke
  • Grade: 4
  • Duration: 9:00
  • Genre: Concert Band
  • Publisher: Brain Music
  • Item No: ORMS-82001A

Flute 1
Flute 2
Oboe 1
Oboe 2
Bassoon 1
Bassoon 2
Eb Clarinet
Bb Clarinet 1 (div.)
Bb Clarinet 2 (div.)
Bb Clarinet 3
Eb Alto Clarinet
Bb Bass Clarinet
Eb Alto Saxophone 1
Eb Alto Saxophone 2
Bb Tenor Saxophone (div.)
Eb Baritone Saxophone

Bb Trumpet 1
Bb Trumpet 2
Bb Trumpet 3
F Horn 1/2
F Horn 3/4
Trombone 1
Trombone 2
Trombone 3
Euphonium (div.)
String Bass


[Percussion 1] Crash Cymbals, Tam-tam, Hyoshigi, Suzu (Bell), Glockenspiel, Vibraphone
[Percussion 2] Snare Drum, Crash Cymbals, Tam-tam, Glockenspiel, Xylophone, Vibraphone
[Percussion 3] Snare Drum, Bass Drum, Suspended Cymbal, Suzu (Bell)

Descriptive of the ancient landscape of Asuka, a region in the central part of the Nara district in Japan, this delicate yet noble work beautifully captures a sense of antiquity. Strong folk inspired melodic lines are featured within a clearly defined orchestration. An excellent work to help develop clear wind sonorities and introduce students to a non-Western musical sense of place in much of the same way English folk music has been captured in many classic band works.

Related Products

Customers who bought this product also purchased...