Composition for Brass Octet

Composition for Brass Octet

  • Composer: Fukushima, Hirokazu
  • Grade: 5
  • Duration: 4:40
  • Genre: Chamber Ensemble
  • Publisher: Brain Music
  • Item No: ENMS-84430


Commissioned by Asahikawa Ryoun High School Band, October, 2014.
Composition in painting is defined as “structure combination”. Brass octets produce characteristic timbres. Using various instrumental combinations, I have tried to produce specific color, sound and expression.
The music is based on a motif in 3rds by the Trp. in the introduction and bar 23. The motif develops and morphs into something very unique. The harmony and progression is somewhat modern; however, I have scored the harmony to resonate well by writing it from the bottom up. I hope performers will enjoy feeling the various colors created by each harmonic structure.
(Hirokazu Fukushima)


1st Trumpet in Bb
2nd Trumpet in Bb
3rd Trumpet in Bb
Horn in F
1st Trombone
2nd Trombone