Ancient Agora of Athens for Woodwinds Quintet

Ancient Agora of Athens for Woodwinds Quintet

  • Composer: Yagisawa, Satoshi
  • Grade: 5
  • Duration: 5:00
  • Genre: Chamber Ensemble
  • Publisher: Brain Music
  • Item No: ENMS-84440

Also Available Digitally
Digital Sheet Music

Commissioned by the Custom Winds Woodwind Quintet: Kazuhiro Iwasa (Fl), Tomoyuki Hirota (Ob), Taras Demchyshyn(Cl), Hitoshi Suzuki(Bssn), Tsutomu Maruyama(Hn). It was an honor to compose my first woodwind quintet for such an amazing ensemble. To prepare, I studied in detail master works for quintet. The commission also asked for a piece suitable for ensemble contest. I included various characteristics expected for festival evaluation.
Agora is defined as market. As I visited Greece, and Athens, the ruins of historical market places and their scenery inspired me. The current view of Athens is unique in that the old and new, historical and modern cityscapes coexist. Imagine this contemporary view of Athens as you perform this work.


Clarinet in Bb
Horn in F