Gianni Schicchi Selections from the Opera (score)

Gianni Schicchi
Selections from the Opera (score)


Program Note

As the third selection of Puccini's opera trilogy (Il trittico) it premiered at the Metropolitan Opera in New York in 1918 to great acclaim. It’s a comic opera in one act to a libretto by Giovacchino Forzano, based on an incident mentioned in Dante's Divine Comedy. The story of the opera is derived from a passage in the 30th canto of Inferno, which mentions Gianni Schicchi?who was an actual Florentine?as having been consigned to the eighth circle of hell with other forgers and cheats for disguising himself as Buoso Donati, a recently deceased Florentine aristocrat, in order to obtain Donati’s wealth for himself.
?Povero Buoso!??Firenze e come un albero fiorito??O mio babbino caro??Era eguale la voce???Ecco la cappellina??Ladro, ladro, furfante!?are performed respectively. The final part was created by the arranger, and except for some cuts and linking of some parts, the original work is well-reflected in this wind band setting.


Piccolo (doub. Flute)
1st & 2nd Flutes

1st & 2nd Oboes
English Horn in F
1st & 2nd Bassoons

Clarinet in Eb
1st Clarinet in Bb (3-div.)
2nd Clarinet in Bb (div.)
3rd Clarinet in Bb (div.)
Alto Clarinet in Eb
Bass Clarinet in Bb
Contra-alto Clarinet in Eb

Soprano Saxophone in Bb
1st Alto Saxophone in Eb
2nd Alto Saxophone in Eb
Tenor Saxophone in Bb
Baritone Saxophone in Eb
1st Trumpet in Bb (div.)
2nd & 3rd Trumpet in Bb
Flugelhorn in Bb

1st & 2nd Horns in F
3rd & 4th Horns in F

1st & 2nd Trombones
3rd & Bass Trombones

Euphonium (div.)
Tuba (div.)

String Bass (div.)

1st Percussion
Drum (Funeral)
Bass Drum
Suspended Cymbal
Snare Drum
Wood Block
Crash Cymbals

2nd Percussion
Suspended Cymbal
Crash Cymbals
Bass Drum

Glockenspiel (Hi-hat Cymbal)
Xylophone (Triangle)
Vibraphone (Tubular Bells)
Marimba (2 Players)