Sinfonietta No.3 \"Distance of Sounds\"

Sinfonietta No.3 "Distance of Sounds"

  • Composer: Fukushima, Hirokazu
  • Grade: 6
  • Duration: 10:00
  • Genre: Concert Band
  • Publisher: Brain Music
  • Item No: ZOMS-A110S


Program Note

Commissioned by Tokai University Takanawadai High School Wind Orchestra in 2018.

This the Third Sinfonietta by Fukushima. The phrase from the first eight measures and rehearsal number J creates the main theme that is further developed.

While this work is ten minutes long, one can use the alternate version for an eight-minute performance.


1st Flute
2nd Flute (div.)
1st & 2nd Oboes
English Horn in F
1st & 2nd Bassoons

Clarinet in Eb
1st Clarinet in Bb (div.)
2nd Clarinet in Bb (div.)
3rd Clarinet in Bb (3 div.)
Bass Clarinet in Bb
Contrabass Clarinet in Bb

Soprano Saxophone in Bb
1st Alto Saxophone in Eb
2nd Alto Saxophone in Eb
Tenor Saxophone in Bb
Baritone Saxophone in Eb

1st Trumpet in Bb(div.)
2nd Trumpet in Bb
3rd Trumpet in Bb(div.)*

1st & 2nd Horns in F
3rd & 4th Horns in F

1st Trombone
2nd Trombone (div.)
3rd Trombone

Euphonium (div.)
Tuba (div.)
String Bass (div.)


* only for cut version


[1st Percussion]
Snare Drum / 4 Tom-toms
Spring Drum / Crash Cymbals
2 Suspended Cymbals
Wind Chime / Wood Block

[2nd Percussion]
Suspended Cymbal
Hi-hat Cymbal / Wind Chime
Bell Tree / Whip

[3rd Percussion]
4 Tom-toms
Suspended Cymbal
3 Triangles / Tambourine
Wind Chime / Bell Tree
Crotales / Wood Block
Tam-tam / Glockenspiel

[4th Percussion]
Bass Drum / Suspended Cymbal
Triangle / Whip

[5th Percussion]
Bass Drum / Crash Cymbals
Tam-tam / Xylophone
Vibraphone / Marimba,
Crotales** / Bell Tree**
** only for cut version

[6th Percussion]
Bass Drum / Bell Tree
Marimba / Chimes

World Parts Download