[SCORE] The Scenes: Classical Dance Suite No.1 - Flexible Band 5

[SCORE] The Scenes: Classical Dance Suite No.1 - Flexible Band 5


I. (2:00) II. (2:15) III. (2:20) IV. (2:30)

[Part 1] Flute, Bb Clarinet, Bb Soprano Saxophone, Bb Trumpet
[Part 2] Oboe, Bb Clarinet, Bb Trumpet, Eb Alto Saxophone
[Part 3] Bb Clarinet, Eb Alto Saxophone, F Horn
[Part 4] F Horn, Eb Alto Clarinet, Bb Clarinet, Bb Tenor Saxophone, Trombone (Euphonium)
[Part 5] Bassoon, Tuba, String Bass, Bb Bass Clarinet, Eb Baritone Saxophone
[Percussion] Tenor Drum or Tom, Tambourine

With Flexible scoring, while it's not realistic to cover all instruments, I intended to use basic band instrumentation and make it possible to freely mix and match. Since Japan's band population has been shrinking due to the nation's depopulation, I hear and witness the difficulties in unbalanced instrumentation. I believe this work will be a helpful resource for many. I have created the piece in a classical style with reference to Renaissance dances. Therefore, I purposefully eliminated any articulation marks and would like performers to share their ideas and determine a playing style without having fixed ideas. Also, since each scene is a complete piece, they may stand alone as needed.

(Akira Toda)