• Composer: Yagisawa, Satoshi
  • Grade: 2.5
  • Duration: 3:30
  • Genre: Concert Band
  • Publisher: Brain Music
  • Item No: COMS-85097S


Premiered by Funabashi Hiagshi High School under the direction of Shinichiro Tagawa in March, 2015, Sentimentale is an excerpt from Yagisawa’s Trumpet Concerto. That work, commissioned by the Japan Air Self-Defense Force Central Band with trumpet soloist Kenichi Kurishu, premiered in 2003 with many subsequent performances. In 2013, the Concerto had its U.S. debut with Kagoshima Joho HS and Robert Sullivan, principal trumpet of the Cincinnati Symphony. I received many warm regards and compliments on the work, especially for the second movement. However, I also heard regrets that the interlude required a trumpet soloist. I remembered the words of Mr. Tagawa, who had collaborated with me on works such as“And Then the Ocean Glows” and“Hymn to the Infinite Sky”. Ten years earlier he suggested that I arrange that movement for full band so that it could be more widely enjoyed. Though I agreed then, only now have I had the chance to realize this idea, as Mr. Tagawa presented me with the opportunity of this musical creation and world premier.

This new arrangement was entitled “Sentimentale” by Mr. Tagawa. I composed the piece with his constant consultation, discussing grade level and instrumentation, and how the work should be a chorale etude for both concert and daily training. I would like to express my sincere gratitude to both Mr. Tagawa and Funabashi Higashi High School.


1st Flute
2nd Flute

1st Clarinet in Bb
2nd Clarinet in Bb
3rd Clarinet in Bb
Bass Clarinet in Bb

1st Alto Saxophone in Eb
2nd Alto Saxophone in Eb
Tenor Saxophone in Bb
Baritone Saxophone in Eb
1st Trumpet in Bb
2nd Trumpet in Bb
3rd Trumpet in Bb

1st & 2nd Horns in F
3rd & 4th Horns in F

1st Trombone
2nd Trombone
3rd Trombone


String Bass


Crash Cymbals
Suspended Cymbals
Bass Drum

World Parts Download

Related Products

Customers who bought this product also purchased...