Percussive Brass for Brass Quintet

Percussive Brass for Brass Quintet

  • Composer: Kataoka, Hiroaki
  • Grade: 5
  • Duration: 6:00
  • Genre: Chamber Ensemble
  • Publisher: Brain Music
  • Item No: ENMS-84426


Commissioned and premiered by brass ensemble “Brass Collection”. All members are from Toyama Prefecture, Japan.
Trumpet Hirofumi Yamauchi said “Feel free to write anything you would like!” I decided to write a rhythmic and lively composition in three-part form. The first section is based on an eighth-note rhythm pattern with an upbeat feel. The middle section is a chorale made from five notes F·G·Bb·C·Eb. Gauge the atmosphere of the audience and the hall and produce a resonant sound. The last section involves a driving 16th-note rhythm.


1st Trumpet in Bb
2nd Trumpet in Bb
Horn in F