Canon for Symphonic Band (score)

Canon for Symphonic Band (score)


Canon is a musical form often associated with the Baroque period, having a variety of types. One is a polyphonic device in which several voices play the same melodic line, entering in sequence. Pachelbel's Canon is the popular name for a canon by the German Baroque composer Johann Pachelbel regarding his Canon and Gigue for three violins and basso continuo. In Pachelbel's work, three voices are canonic, but there is also a fourth voice, the basso continuo, which plays an independent part. Since there are no given dynamics or tempi, recordings of a variety of interpretations exist. One should consider the many sources available for study and comparison. Pachelbel's canon consists of just 12 variations, mostly four bars in length. Thus, the canon merges a strict polyphonic form and a variation form. Pachelbel skillfully constructs the variations to make them both pleasing and subtly undetectable. Be attentive to Baroque era practices such as slur markings with crescendo and end of phrase indications. These will help with appropriate period performance.


1st Flute
2nd Flute
1st & 2nd Oboe
English Horn in F
1st Bassoon
2nd Bassoon

Clarinet in Eb
1st Clarinet in Bb
2nd Clarinet in Bb
3rd Clarinet in Bb
Alto Clarinet in Eb
Bass Clarinet in Bb
Contra-alto Clarinet in Eb
1st Alto Saxophone in Eb
2nd Alto Saxophone in Eb
Tenor Saxophone in Bb
Baritone Saxophone in Eb

1st & 2nd Horn in F
3rd & 4th Horn in F

1st Trumpet in Bb (doub. Flugelhorn in Bb )
2nd Trumpet in Bb
3rd Trumpet in Bb
1st Trombone
2nd Trombone
3rd Trombone

Euphonium (div.)
String Bass


Related Products