Musica quinque plena

Musica quinque plena

  • Composer: Koh, Chang-Su
  • Grade: 5
  • Duration: 9:30
  • Genre: Concert Band
  • Publisher: Brain Music
  • Item No: ZOMS-A124S


Program Note

Commissioned by Tokyo Ryusei Wind Orchestra.
Following the same band’s 2018 commission of Triplo Triplum, written in ternary feel throughout, this work is in quintuple meter from beginning to end. (The title says “quintuple meter” in Latin) Though its consistently quintuple, there are possibilities to employ various groupings such as 5/4, 5/8, 2+3, 3+2 and intricately combine these. As you will see, I couldn’t resist the temptation to try them all.


Piccolo (doub. 3rd Flute)
1st & 2nd Flutes
1st & 2nd Oboes
English Horn in F
1st & 2nd Bassoons

Clarinet in Eb
1st Clarinet in Bb (div.)
2nd Clarinet in Bb
3rd Clarinet in Bb
Alto Clarinet in Eb
Bass Clarinet in Bb
Contrabass Clarinet in Bb

Soprano Saxophone
1st & 2nd Alto Saxophones
Tenor Saxophone
Baritone Saxophone

Cornets in Bb(div.)
1st & 2nd Trumpets in Bb
3rd Trumpet in Bb

1st & 2nd Horns in F
3rd & 4th Horns in F

1st & 2nd Trombones
3rd & 4th Trombones

Euphoniums (div.)
Tuba (div.)
String Bass



[1st Percussion]
Snare Drum / Triangle

[2nd Percussion]
Crash Cymbals
Suspended Cymbal
5 Moushou (or High Wood Blocks)

[3rd Percussion]
Bass Drum / Tam-tam
Maracas / Cavasa / Guiro

Tubular Bells

World Parts Download

Related Products